Hinds Community College Vice President Dr. Debra Mays-Jackson of Jackson is among 24 college administrators nationwide who will be honored with the 2017 Distinguished College web_Debra Mays-JacksonAdministrator Award presented by Phi Theta Kappa next month.

Mays-Jackson has been vice president for the Utica and Vicksburg-Warren campuses since July 2013. The award will be presented to her at the April 6-8 Phi Theta Kappa annual convention in Nashville. The Distinguished College Administrator Award is given to college vice presidents, deans or directors who have demonstrated a strong level of support for Phi Theta Kappa during their tenure.

Mays-Jackson received her doctorate in education from Mississippi State University, a Specialist of Education degree in Educational Administration and Supervision from Jackson State University, and a Masters of Music degree, also from JSU.

Mays-Jackson and Pearl River Community College Vice President Dr. Martha Smith are the only Mississippi recipients this year.

Hinds Community College is celebrating its 100th year of Community Inspired Service in 2017. Hinds opened in September 1917 first as an agricultural high school and admitted college students for the first time in 1922, with the first class graduating in 1927. In 1982 Hinds Junior College and Utica Junior College merged, creating the Hinds Community College District. Today, as Mississippi’s largest community college, Hinds Community College is a comprehensive institution with six locations. Hinds offers quality, affordable educational opportunities with academic programs of study leading to seamless university transfer and career and technical programs teaching job-ready skills. To learn more, visit www.hindscc.edu or call 1.800.HindsCC.

[tweetable alt=””]Hinds CC vice president honored by Phi Theta Kappa[/tweetable]

Categories: News