RAYMOND — Hinds Community College’s Honors Institute presented 15 students with awards of excellence for the 2017-18 academic term. Each named a faculty mentor, who received a certificate as an Honored Faculty Member during a ceremony April 25.

Honors Scholars carry 12 or more honors hours and must maintain an overall GPA of 3.25 or better and have at least 20 hours of community service.

Distinguished Honors Scholars carry 18 or more honors hours and have two semesters in the Leadership Program. They must maintain an overall GPA of 3.5 or better and have at least 30 hours of community service.

Also awarded as an Honors Scholar but unable to attend the ceremony was Tyler Trussell, who honored Assistant Baseball Coach and Sports Information Director Nick Ammirati.

Audra Canoy, left, and computer science instructor Dr. Johanna Williams
Physics instructor Sarah Francis, left, and Bobby Cavett Jr.








Anna Hite, left, and art instructor Melanie Atkinson
Holt Hunter, left, and mathematics instructor Jeff Hughes








English instructor Laura Hammons, left, and Navdeep Kaur
Alisha McDougal, left, and English instructor Wilson Knight








Ariel Merlin, left, and chemistry instructor Jason Webb
Physics instructor Rakasree Biswas, left, and Zaid Qasem








Nicole Rigsby, left, and business administration instructor Nita Burchfield
English instructor Sharon Gerald, left, and Muammar Saeed








Joanna Stevens, left, and biology instructor Beth Guider
Business administration instructor Mike Clark, left, and Katherine Uthoff








La’Daysha Washington, left, and District Coordinator of Student Conduct Sharon Alexander
International studies advisor Michelle Davison, left, and Abdulaziz Yafai












Categories: News